Norwich Student Government elects new leadership

Every year, the Student Government Association (SGA) elections are held for the student body for them to choose who their respective representatives are. Elections were held from March 30 through April 2 this year for the positions of president, vice-president and treasurer, as well as the senators who will represent each class.

The election for president was a three-way race between incumbent Vice-President Liam Carroll, Edward Jacome, and Christian Woo, with Carroll coming out on top, garnering 60 percent of the vote.

The election for vice-president was much closer, as rising junior Daniel Lupacchino narrowly won the position over rising sophomore Jacob Cardinal. Lupacchino earned the honor to serve as VP by a vote count of 311 to 232.

The race for SGA Treasurer was not nearly as tight, as junior Noah Clemmer ran unopposed and received 100 percent of all 643 votes cast.

The class of 2018 senators are John Robert Harrison, Anne Peternel, Eugene Ryan, Dominic DeSoto, Tyler Jones, and Abigail Finley, with Finley getting the most votes.

The class of 2017 senators are Damon Alvarez, who was the top vote-getter, as well as Annelies Heni, Steven Thomas, Derek Lotito, and George Slawski.

The class of 2016 elections were postponed due to a lack of candidates. Carroll and his cabinet are being tasked to fill the positions.


Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.